Your Coaching Institute


NEET, which stands for the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test, is a national-level entrance examination in India for admission to undergraduate medical courses (MBBS/BDS) in government or private medical colleges across the country. NEET is the sole entrance test for admission to medical and dental programs in India.

Key features of the NEET exam include:

  1. Eligibility:
    • Candidates must have completed 10+2 or its equivalent with Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology, and English as mandatory subjects.
    • The minimum age limit for candidates is generally 17 years, and there is an upper age limit (with some relaxations for certain categories).
  2. Subjects and Exam Pattern:
    • NEET primarily assesses the candidates’ knowledge in Physics, Chemistry, and Biology (Botany and Zoology).
    • The exam consists of multiple-choice questions (MCQs), and each correct answer is awarded four marks, while one mark is deducted for each incorrect answer.
  3. Mode of Examination:
    • NEET is conducted in a pen-and-paper-based (offline) mode. However, there have been discussions about transitioning to a computer-based mode in the future.
  4. Syllabus:
    • The syllabus for NEET is based on the topics covered in the 11th and 12th standards, following the NCERT curriculum. It includes subjects like Physics, Chemistry, and Biology.
  5. National Testing Agency (NTA):
    • NEET is conducted by the National Testing Agency (NTA), which is responsible for the conduct of various entrance examinations in India.
  6. Admission Process:
    • NEET scores are used by medical colleges across India to admit students to MBBS and BDS programs.
    • Counseling for NEET is conducted by the Directorate General of Health Services (DGHS) and the Medical Counseling Committee (MCC), which oversee the allocation of seats in government and private medical colleges.
  7. Attempts:
    • Candidates are allowed a maximum of three attempts to appear for the NEET examination, subject to the upper age limit.

NEET replaced several individual state and university-level medical entrance exams to bring uniformity in the admission process for medical courses. It is considered one of the most challenging and competitive medical entrance exams in the country. NEET plays a crucial role in determining the eligibility of students to pursue undergraduate medical education, contributing to the standardization and transparency of the medical admissions process in India.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top